A blogger finally getting their wings

I’ve been following José A Ortega-Ruiz (he goes by “jao” for short) for about 6 years now, on his blog Programming Musings. Recently I noticed he wasn’t posting much, if at all. Finally he said he was starting up a new blog here, using a static web page tool, written in Racket (a Scheme implementation), called “Frog” for “frozen blog.” I found his 2nd post, called “Where my mouth is” inspirational.

For many years, I’ve been convinced that programming needs to move forward and abandon the Algol family of languages that, still today, dampens the field. And that that forward direction has been signaled for decades by (mostly) functional, possibly dynamic languages with an immersive environment. But it wasn’t until recently that I was able to finally put my money where my mouth has been all these years.

A couple of years ago I finally became a co-founder and started working on a company I could call my own (I had been close in the past, but not really there), and was finally in a position to really influence our development decisions at every level. Even at the most sensitive of them all: language choice.

He says he’s working with a team of people who are curious, and are willing to take the risk of trying out less traditional, but as they perceive, more powerful programming environments, such as Clojure (a Lisp variant that runs on the JVM, and is pronounced “closure”). Read the rest of it.

I once aspired to work with a team such as this. I had been working in IT services for several years, and I thought I’d continue on in that vein, with something like Smalltalk, starting my own little “web shop,” or just happening to find a company that was already creating IT systems with something like it. More recently I’ve been finding computing as a field of study more interesting, not in the typical sense that academic computer science teaches, but as a phenomenon unto itself, a kind of interesting effect of a machine that’s capable of generating, and acting like, a machine of a different kind from itself, simply by feeding it different patterns of a certain nature. As Alan Kay has demonstrated, looking at computing this way, you can still arrive at an environment that looks recognizable, but is vastly different under the covers than the typical user-oriented system is structured today.

I’ve put two links in my links sidebar for jao’s blogs, “Programming Musings” (his old blog) and “Programming Musings 2,” since his old blog is rather like an archive of really interesting and valuable knowledge in computer science, and I encourage people to scan through it for anything they find of value.

I wish jao the best of luck in his new venture!

Leave a Reply

